Nancy Jane (Ritchie) Hollinger Born December 13, 1945, Died April 11, 2017, 04:20 AM


I am very sad to say that the love of my life left me for a better place at 04:20 AM today.

Nancy Jane (Ritchie) Hollinger Born December 13, 1945, Died April 11, 2017, 04:20 AM, may God rest her soul!

Nancy and I knew each other for right at 63 years. We were married May 21, 1962 enjoying 64 years of love and
friendship. We would have been married 55 years May 21 of this year had not the good Lord decided that it was
time for her to come home putting an end to her pain, discomfort, unhappiness because she wasn’t able to get about and do the things she wanted to do.

Nancy was a grandmother to the bone. She loved children, period! Her grandchildren and great grandchildren
had become her her favorite centers of attention and concern. She gave them number one on her priority list.
The kids loved her and gave her their attention and love when in her presence and she returned same in spades.

Nancy is the person I most loved to be with and just sharing life with. I was often accused of smothering her
with attention and being a pain in the butt because of doing so. I didn’t mind being too attentive, I still got to be with her and enjoyed her being with me to the nth.

I will miss my cherished partner in life, my love, my friend, my partner, my buddy, my wife for the rest of my life.
She was my everything and I am going to have a hard time adjusting to life without her physical presence. I will
always have her on my mind. Most anything I may do I would have done with her if cancer had not claimed her.

I went to dinner with two of our grandsons tonight and I commented to the youngest on the way into the
establishment that something was missing. He asked “what”? I told him “MomMom”! She would not have
liked eating at that place because the price was too high. Nancy took good care of our finances and because of
her we afforded life to the best she would allow us to afford. Thank you Hon for being so frugal and cost
centered. Because of you we were able to live life well, within our means, and still have enough left over to spoil grandchildren.

I would not be glad that Nancy has gone to be with God and her Mom and Grandmother except for the fact that she
is no longer unable and uncomfortable. She considered not receiving chemotherapy so she would not have to
experience the horror and discomfort it can bring. She tolerated the chemotherapy with minimal side effects.
Being small cell lung cancer, their are very few that last more than five years. This is because that the disease is
usually in advanced stages when discovered. Advanced SCLC is, for most, incurable. Less research has been
directed at this deadly form of cancer than for other types of lung cancer. SCLC is a very aggressive disease.

The main cause of SCLC is smoking! Quit!!

Cancer, as it was spreading and growing, was not kind to her. She had massive, hard tumors at the base of her
neck on her right side, in lymph nodes. These hurt her badly at time requiring lidocaine transdermal patches to
relieve pain as well as medication. The cancer started in her right lung and started spreading right away to her
adrenal glands and other areas. Eventually to her brain affecting her speech and causing mental confusion at times.

As the small cell lung cancer spread and grew she lost interest in food but drank more than ever before. She was
able to tell she needed to pee right up to the end, never fouling her clothes or her bed. Her food intake was no
more than a couple of small bites a day for weeks. She lost right at 66 lbs from early October 2016 until today.

I will miss this girl so much. My loss is becoming more and more intense as time passes. I will endure but,
painfully lonely. Nancy is now at peace and in a better place. May God hold her hand and unite her with her Mom and her grandmother for ever after, Amen!

Nancy, if you read this, did I get it right? I sure hope so! I have always loved you and I will continue to do so, Sweetheart. Until we meet again, I love you!

Love is a many splendored thing!

Joe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I would like to read your comments about my posts.

